Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Three Builders Named To The VaSID College Division All-State Baseball Team

Three Builders Named To The VaSID College Division All-State Baseball Team

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. – With seven All-State selections and a pair of major award winners, Division III World Series participant Randolph-Macon College led the way on the 2018 Virginia Sports Information Directors College Division All-State team. The organization announced the award winners on Wednesday, with 11 different programs from the Commonwealth represented, including three different among the four major awards.

Randolph-Macon was led by VaSID Coach of the Year Ray Hedrick and the State Pitcher of the Year Colin Selby as the Yellow Jackets reached the Division III World Series for the first time in program history. Roanoke College featured the State Rookie of the Year, designated hitter Will Salva, while the State Player of the Year, third baseman Seth Woodard, played at Christopher Newport University.

Hedrick and the Randolph-Macon Yellow Jackets won the program's first NCAA Regional Championship en route to a 38-9-1 overall record, setting the program record for wins in a season. The Old Dominion Athletic Conference Coach of the Year was also recognized as the South Region Coach of the Year. The Yellow Jackets finished the year ranked No. 3 in the nation in both the ABCA/Collegiate Baseball and polls. The team went 4-0 in NCAA Regional play before advancing to and winning three games in the Division III World Series.

Leading Hedrick's pitching staff was junior right-hander Colin Selby, who was drafted in the 16th round of the Major League Baseball Draft by the Pittsburgh Pirates. Selby was named an ABCA/Rawlings Division III First Team All-American, while also collecting second team All-American plaudits by He was the Conference Pitcher of the Year and a first team All-Region selection after a record-setting campaign on the mound for the Yellow Jackets. Selby made 15 starts and posted an 11-3 record with a 2.60 ERA. He set program marks for starts and wins, while ranking fourth in the nation in victories and fifth in total starts. In 97 innings, Selby struck out 125, leading the nation and setting a new R-MC standard.

Playing for the Captains in his first year as a junior, Christopher Newport third baseman Seth Woodard put together one of the finest seasons in program history. An ABCA First Team All-American and Third Team selection, Woodard became just the second Capital Athletic Conference Player of the Year in CNU history. He is the fifth CNU player to earn VaSID State Player of the Year honors and first since 2013 when Justin Weaver collected the honor. Woodard hit .386 with a slugging percentage over .700 while driving in 65 runs and scoring 57 times. He was at the forefront of a Captains' offense that powered the team back to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2012. He ranked seventh nationally in RBI, 8th in home runs, 13th in total bases, and 14th in runs scored.

Rounding out the 2018 major award winners was Roanoke College freshman designated hitter Will Salva. The designated hitter for the Maroons was named the ODAC Rookie of the Year and a second team All-Conference selection. He did most of his damage against league opponents, racking up 23 of his 37 RBI against ODAC foes. The freshman opened the season with a 20-game hitting streak that included 10 multi-hit games and wrapped the year with 46 hits in 140 at-bats for a .329 average in his first year. He drove in 37 and scored 30 times with five home runs.  

The All-State First and Second Teams were also announced, with eleven different programs represented in a deep year for baseball across the state. Randolph-Macon led the way with seven selections, while six Shenandoah University Hornets and Captains of Christopher Newport University earned recognition.

2018 VaSID College Division Baseball All-State

Player of the Year: Seth Woodard, Christopher Newport

Pitcher of the Year: Colin Selby, Randolph-Macon

Rookie of the Year: Will Salva, Roanoke

Coach of the Year: Ray Hedrick, Randolph-Macon


First Team

C - Cody Hendrickson, Apprentice School

C - Reece Yeargain, Randolph-Macon

1B - Joseph Tuzzolo, Randolph-Macon

2B - Conner Hall, Marymount

3B - Seth Woodard, Christopher Newport

SS - Robbie Marcelle, Shenandoah

OF - Maxwell Burcham, Apprentice School

OF - Sean Guida, Roanoke

OF - Cole Migliorini, Randolph-Macon

DH - Keegan Woolford, Shenandoah

UTIL - Damon Frazier, Eastern Mennonite


SP - Colin Morse, Shenandoah

SP - Jacob Pilarski, Virginia Wesleyan

SP - Colin Selby, Randolph-Macon

RP - Michael Bugonowicz, Shenandoah

RP - Joe Burris, Christopher Newport


Second Team

C - Chase Smallwood, Shenandoah

1B - Cole Critchfield, Southern Virginia

2B - Jeff Butler, Randolph-Macon

3B - Jack Howard, Roanoke

SS - Brandon Kussmaul, Virginia Wesleyan

OF - Ryan Duphorn, Randolph-Macon

OF - Craig Johnson, Christopher Newport

OF - Grant Thompson, Shenandoah

DH - Brandon Ginch, Christopher Newport

UTIL - Christian Hague, Mary Washington


SP - Jacob Holland, Ferrum

SP - Thomas Packert, Christopher Newport

SP - Nick Roth, Randolph-Macon

RP - Mike Brumfield, Apprentice School

RP - Brian Owens, Christopher Newport