Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Two Builders Named Second Team VaSID All-State

Two Builders Named Second Team VaSID All-State

BRIDGEWATER, Va. – Major awards were split among five different schools, as the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) announced the 2018 College Division All-State football team.

Shenandoah quarterback Hayden Bauserman and Bridgewater linebacker Re'Shaun Myers were named Players of the Year, while Rookie of the Year honors went to Hampden-Sydney running back Kaleb Smith and Averett linebacker Joseph Ledbetter. Randolph-Macon's Pedro Arruza was the Coach of the Year.

Bauserman was the 2018 ODAC Offensive Player of the Year and earned the Lanier Award as the top Division II/III/NAIA player in Virginia. He set ODAC season records for passing attempts (555), completions (355), yardage (3832) and touchdowns (43), while leading Division III in passing yards and touchdowns as well as points responsible for.

Myers was the ODAC Defensive Player of the Year and the Richmond TD Club's State Linebacker of the Year. He ranked third in the conference in tackles (84) and fifth in tackles for loss (9.5). He added 3.0 sacks, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

Smith was the ODAC Rookie of the Year and a third team All-ODAC selection at a loaded running back position. He ranked sixth in the nation at the end of the regular season in receptions per game, and 22nd in all-purpose yards. He posted seven rushing touchdowns and was second in the ODAC with 71 catches for 661 yards and two more touchdowns.

Ledbetter was the USA South Defensive Rookie of the Year and a first team All-Conference choice. He ranked second in the USA South in tackles for loss (15.5) and fourth in tackles (62), while returning one fumble for a touchdown.

Arruza was the ODAC Coach of the Year for second time in the past three years. Not only did he lead Randolph-Macon to its 11th ODAC title (tying Emory & Henry for the most championships in ODAC history), but the Yellow Jackets went on to record their first NCAA playoff win by upsetting #8 John Carroll 23-20 in the first round of NCAA Championship.

Bauserman was joined on the first team offense by running backs Tre Frederick (Randolph-Macon) and Brian Mann (Ferrum), wide receivers Major Morgan (Hampden-Sydney) and Casey Stewart (Shenandoah) and RMC tight end Sam Tanner. The first team offensive line was Greg Castle (Randolph-Macon), Michael Head (Averett), Mitch Hornsby (Washington & Lee), Matt Rittenhouse (Christopher Newport) and Jake Wernle (Randolph-Macon).

The first team defense featured linemen Ben James (Christopher Newport), John Kline (Hampden-Sydney), Ledbetter (Averett) and Steve McNair (Randolph-Macon); linebackers Myers, Yonis Blanco (Randolph-Macon) and Dejon Brooks (Averett); cornerbacks Damian Jiggetts (Christopher Newport) and Daquan Pridget (Shenandoah); and safeties Chad Vanlandingham (Hampden-Sydney) and Anthony Williams (Randolph-Macon).

The first team specialists were Randolph-Macon kicker Chris Vidal, Averett punter Cole Westberry (who was also a second team selection at kicker), and Averett kick returner Bradley Jefferson.

VaSID names 27 all-state teams in 15 sports each year, as well as an Academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership in VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a University or conference in the state of Virginia.


Offensive Player of the Year: Hayden Bauserman, Shenandoah University
Defensive Player of the Year: Re'Shaun Myers, Bridgewater College
Offensive Rookie of the Year: Kaleb Smith, Hampden-Sydney College
Defensive Rookie of the Year: Joseph Ledbetter, Averett University
Coach of the Year: Pedro Arruza, Randolph-Macon College

First Team
QB: Hayden Bauserman, Shenandoah University
RB: Tre Frederick, Randolph-Macon College
RB: Brian Mann, Ferrum College
WR: Major Morgan, Hampden-Sydney College
WR: Casey Stewart, Shenandoah University
TE: Sam Tanner, Randolph-Macon College
OL: Greg Castle, Randolph-Macon College
OL: Michael Head, Averett University
OL: Mitch Hornsby, Washington and Lee University
OL: Matt Rittenhouse, Christopher Newport University
OL: Jake Wernle, Randolph-Macon College

DL: Ben James, Christopher Newport University
DL: John Kline, Hampden-Sydney College
DL: Joseph Ledbetter, Averett University
DL: Steve McNair, Randolph-Macon College
LB: Yonis Blanco, Randolph-Macon College
LB: Dejon Brooks, Averett University
LB: Re'Shaun Myers, Bridgewater College
CB: Damian Jiggetts, Christopher Newport University
CB: Daquan Pridget, Shenandoah University
S: Chad Vanlandingham, Hampden-Sydney College
S: Anthony Williams, Randolph-Macon College

PK: Chris Vidal, Randolph-Macon College
P: Cole Westberry, Averett University
RS: Bradley Jefferson, Averett University

Second Team
QB: Alec Cobb, Hampden-Sydney College
RB: Josh Breece, Washington and Lee University
RB: Akiva Wedge, Southern Virginia University
WR: Joshua Davis, Christopher Newport University
WR: Eric Hoy, Randolph-Macon College
TE: Grant Monson, Bridgewater College
OL: Sean Clark, Washington and Lee University
OL: Andrew Grage, Hampden-Sydney College
OL: Will Hoffman, Bridgewater College
OL: Jordan Sawyer, Christopher Newport University
OL: Tyler Weterrings, Emory & Henry College

DL: Andrew Frailer, Washington and Lee University
DL: Johnathon Johnson, Ferrum College
DL: Muhammad Khan, Bridgewater College
DL: Khris Smith, Apprentice School
LB: Will Corry, Washington and Lee University
LB: Griffin Davis, Hampden-Sydney College
LB: Donavan Montague, University of Virginia-Wise
CB: Raekwon Jackson, Apprentice School
CB: D.J. Wright, Christopher Newport University
S: Matt Dang, Bridgewater College
S: Neil Davis, Southern Virginia University

PK: Cole Westberry, Averett University
P: Bo Sheridan, Washington & Lee University
RS: Davonta Womack, Bridgewater College